Why in the world are progressive Catholics fearful, phobic, of the Extraordinary Form of the Mass and the possible normalization with the full communion of the Church of the SSPX?
1. Do they fear the priest turning his back to the congregation?
2. Are they horrified by communicants kneeling for Holy Communion?
3. Does Latin totally baffle them?
4. Is uniformity of celebration and formal rubrics anathema?
5. Is the lack of guitars and other contemporary elements of music insulting?
6. Are they narrow minded?
7. Are they self-loathing? Do they hate their family of origin, meaning the Catholics of the Pre-Vatican II Church?
I always thought that the term "progressive Catholic" meant that a Catholic was an open person to that which is new and that which is old and there is a live and let live philosophy of life.
But it turns out that progressive Catholic share a common feature with retro-Catholics, fear of change and rigidity. How odd!
Hiç yorum yok:
Yorum Gönder